Posted July 6th, 2006 by Matt
Filed under: Football, TV

“If you had a perfect season and were still considered second best wouldn’t you have a chip on your shoulder?”

Wasn’t USC supposed to have one of the best teams of all-time? Oops…I guess next time ESPN will do those kind of polls AFTER the National Championship game.

And man, they still keep referencing that USC had previously won back-to-back championships. Apparently they haven’t heard about USC’s One-Peat.


Related Posts


  1. reply to  #1


    Ha. Nice. Vince and the rest of the team are up for a bunch of awards.

  2. reply to  #2


    Would a UT fan have a giant longhorn head/skull on his wall?

  3. reply to  #3


    “Back to back championship?” When did that happen?
    2005 – USC
    2006 – Texas

    I don’t see USC’s name twice.

  4. reply to  #4


    I agree 100%.

  5. reply to  #5


    All USC had was Reggie Bush and he had not ran into a top notch defende until the national championship. UT shut him down 95% or more of the game.

  6. reply to  #6


    Yeah buddy, your right and espn is wrong…
    haha, get your facts straight. even though your some what right

    2003 Louisiana State and USC*

    2004 USC

    2005 TEXAS

    *USC was ranked number 1 in the polls and number-2-ranked Louisiana State won the Sugar Bowl. Had LSU and USC met in the Sugar Bowl, there would have been only one champion.

  7. reply to  #7

    Jeff Campbell

    Vince Young is the awesomest man ever, but you guys are right about the back to back titles, I honestly think they didn’t win any, i think LSU was better in 03 and Auburn was better in 04

  8. reply to  #8

    ryan cheatham

    usc sucks..they need to get over it that they lost

  9. reply to  #9


    Props to VY. HOWEVER, only dorks would contend that USC’s AP National Championship doesn’t count. That’s about as dumb as saying 34 wins in a row doesn’t qualify as a dynasty….how many times has that happened?

  10. reply to  #10

    ryan cheatham

    your you know anything about football? LSU won the championship that year not USC.

  11. reply to  #11


    Ryan, notice how you put the asterik after USC. That pretty much sums it up. LSU were the BCS National Champs that year, not USC.

  12. reply to  #12


    hey dumb fuck who wrote number 11.. i didnt write the number 9 u dumbass. and i kno lsu were the champs that year.

Texas FanGuide - Texas Longhorns fan app with roster, news, and team schedule

Subscribe to the 40 Acres!

Don't miss breaking news or another story from your favorite Longhorns fan site, subscribe to our RSS(?) feed!

Become a fan of the 40 Acres on Facebook

Recent Comments