Posted November 12th, 2008 by Brian
Filed under: Football

Texas senior defensive end [tag]Brian Orakpo[/tag] was named one of four finalists today for the Lombardi Award, given annually to the nation’s top interior lineman. Orakpo has been incredible this season, racking up 26 unassisted tackles, 15 tackles behind the line of scrimmage, and nine sacks so far. The winner will be announced on December 10th in Houston.

From the press release on the award’s official site:

Laurinaitis, Maualuga, Orakpo, Smith named Rotary Lombardi Award Finalists.

Three defensive players and one offensive player – three seniors and one junior – were named today as finalists for the 39th Rotary Lombardi Award, presented by Wachovia. This year’s award dinner will be held on December 10 at the Hilton Americas Hotel in Downtown Houston. Houston Dynamo President and former Houston Oiler Oliver Luck will be the featured speaker at the event.

University of Texas defensive end Brian Orakpo is the 11th Longhorn finalist. Orakpo is a senior who battled a knee injury for the entire 2007 season but ended the year by earning Defensive MVP honors at the Holiday Bowl. The last winner from Texas was Tony Degrate in 1984.

Founded in the weeks following the 1970 death from cancer of legendary football coach Vince Lombardi, the Rotary Lombardi Award has consistently delivered upon the mission set forth by Marie Lombardi when she granted the use of her late husband’s name. Her only stipulation was that all net proceeds from the event be donated to the American Cancer Society. Millions of dollars have been raised since that time.


Related Posts


Comments are closed.

Texas FanGuide - Texas Longhorns fan app with roster, news, and team schedule

Subscribe to the 40 Acres!

Don't miss breaking news or another story from your favorite Longhorns fan site, subscribe to our RSS(?) feed!

Become a fan of the 40 Acres on Facebook

Recent Comments