Posted December 9th, 2007 by Brian
Filed under: Football

Greg Davis, Colt McCoy, Jamaal Charles, and Ken RuckerThe Texas Longhorns held their annual football banquet Friday night (photos) where they honored team members for their accomplishments on and off the field. Though fans and recruits do attend, the event is definitely a night for the players to look back on the season and to honor the careers of the outgoing seniors.

Quarterback [tag]Colt McCoy[/tag] and running back [tag]Jamaal Charles[/tag] were deservedly named the team MVPs. McCoy didn’t have as good of a season as he did his freshman year but he definitely is the player that made this team go (when it went anywhere). Charles was also named Darrell K. Royal Most Valuable Offensive Player while the Mike Campbell Most Valuable Defensive Players were [tag]Brandon Foster[/tag] and [tag]Marcus Griffin[/tag].

In a team vote [tag]Dallas Griffin[/tag], [tag]Tony Hills[/tag], and [tag]Derek Lokey[/tag] were honored with the D. Harold Byrd Leadership Award. Also, in a shocking development quarterback McCoy was given the Outstanding Quarterback Award.

In a move that infuriated Internet Coaching and Motivational Experts [tag]Rashad Bobino[/tag], [tag]Scott Derry[/tag], and [tag]Robert Killebrew[/tag] shared the honor of being the team’s Outstanding Linebackers. I’m not sure what else you can really do though as no linebacker really deserved the honor and it would be pretty embarrassing to not hand out an award for the position.

A list of all the award winners is after the jump.

George “Hook” McCullough MVP
Jamaal Charles
Colt McCoy

Darrell K. Royal Most Valuable Offensive Player
Jamaal Charles

Mike Campbell Most Valuable Defensive Player
Brandon Foster
Marcus Griffin

Lan Hewlett Academic Award
Dallas Griffin

Coca-Cola Community Service Award
Derek Lokey

Outstanding Offensive Linemen
Dallas Griffin
Tony Hills

Outstanding Defensive Linemen
Derek Lokey
Frank Okam

Most Consistent Defensive Player
Derek Lokey

Dr. Nasser Al-Rashid Strength & Conditioning Awards
Derek Lokey
Frank Okam
Tony Hills

Outstanding Tight End
Jermichael Finley

Joseph W. Moore Award for Tenacity
Roy Miller
Adam Ulatoski

Longhorn Club Sportsmanship Award
Quan Cosby

Most Consistent Offensive Players
Quan Cosby
Chris Hall

Frank Medina Rehabilitation Award sponsored by Pacificare
Cedric Dockery
Eddie Jones
Aaron Lewis
Roddrick Muckelroy
Brian Orakpo
Jordan Shipley
Limas Sweed
Luke Tiemann
Adam Ulatoski

Outstanding Quarterback
Colt McCoy

Outstanding Wide Receivers
Nate Jones
Limas Sweed

Outstanding Offensive Newcomers
John Chiles
Michael Huey
Blaine Irby
Vondrell McGee

Outstanding Defensive Newcomers
Sam Acho
Sergio Kindle
Roddrick Muckelroy

Lowe’s Most Improved Defensive Players
Deon Beasley
Jared Norton
Ryan Palmer

Outstanding Defensive Ends
Lamarr Houston
Aaron Lewis
Brian Orakpo

Outstanding Linebackers
Rashad Bobino
Scott Derry
Robert Killebrew

Outstanding Defensive Backs
Brandon Foster
Marcus Griffin
Erick Jackson
Drew Kelson

Lowe’s Most Improved Offensive Players
Jordan Shipley
Charlie Tanner

Clyde Littlefield Outstanding Offensive Back
Jamaal Charles

Roy Williams Joe Jamail Leadership Award
Drew Kelson

Valor Awards
Billy Pittman
Will Harvey
Thomas Marshall
Chris Ogbonnaya
Ishie Oduegwu
Greg Smith
Luke Tiemann

American Airlines D.X. Bible Most Team Spirited
Tony Hills

Frank Denius Most Valuable Special Teams Player
Ryan Bailey
Quan Cosby

D. Harold Byrd Leadership Award
Dallas Griffin
Tony Hills
Derek Lokey

Team Captains Award
Dallas Griffin
Tony Hills
Derek Lokey
Frank Okam


Related Posts


  1. […] Texas juniors Jermichael Finley and Roy Miller both announced at the annual football banquet that they would be returning next year for their senior seasons. I hadn’t really heard much about Miller but there’s been rumors about Finley jumping early almost since the day he stepped on campus. […]

  2. reply to  #2


    Someone is deleting the comments. WHAT A FREAKING BABY!!!!!!!!!!


    (Editor’s note: Feel free to make actual intelligent comments, even pro-Aggie, and they’ll stay up. Bad language and spamming with 3 word comments will not be tolerated.)

  3. reply to  #3


    As always, agroloids’ obsession with Daddy Texas knows no bounds.

  4. reply to  #4


    Lowe’s, American Airlines, Pacificare – is there anything not for sale by the athletic department. I bleed orange as much as the next guy, but this is ridiculous.

    And Derry should have been given the Mapsco Linebacker Award.


    (Editor’s note: See this is an example of an actual negative comment mocking Derry and it gets to stay up.)

  5. reply to  #5

    Don Key-Bohls

    So if you’re on the team and didn’t get an award, there’s a message here somewhere

  6. reply to  #6

    Jim Bob Cooter

    They should just give every single player on the roster an award so their pretty little feelings don’t get hurt. Mack can clap in their faces and then pass on some herpes from a nice tongue session.

  7. reply to  #7


    What about the John Deere Immobility Award handed out to the player carted off the field the most?

  8. reply to  #8


    Tampax, Keenex, etc. Dodds is leaving a lot of money on the table.

  9. reply to  #9

    claude shingo-fett

    what about the Mack Brown “Gosh darnit this is just a good kid who I’ve never seen play an f’n down award” for all the cheerleaders in white pants waving towels all game telling the lame horn “fans” who need to be told when to cheer?

  10. reply to  #10


    Um… Claude I’m not sure that was an attempt at humor or what but Texas A&M is the school with cheerleaders in white pants waving towels and telling fans when to cheer.

  11. reply to  #11


    I hate to break this to you son, you’re momma never told you this, but I am your Daddy.

Texas FanGuide - Texas Longhorns fan app with roster, news, and team schedule

Subscribe to the 40 Acres!

Don't miss breaking news or another story from your favorite Longhorns fan site, subscribe to our RSS(?) feed!

Become a fan of the 40 Acres on Facebook

Recent Comments